Hemorrhaging money.   Leave a comment

OMG.  Kids are so expensive.  We are spending a ton of money every month.  We hit up the grocery store and/or Sams Club at least once per week.  My toddler eats fruit like it’s going out of style…and now he’s catching on to veggies and loving those too.  In addition to fresh, expensive produce, he loves all things dairy.  Milk, yogurt, cheese, eggs…  He loves crackers, raisins, juice, etc.  He eats a lot.  He eats way more than I expected a year and a half old would eat, and we are feeling the pinch.  Our grocery bill has more than doubled.  I know I know, I should have planned for this when we were preggo.  I did mentally prepare for it, but nothing could prepare my wallet for it.

Not only do we spend a large amount of money in food every month, but we constantly need something for ourselves or the kids.  Just when I think we are getting to a point in our lives where there’s nothing we need to buy, it turns out I was wrong.  We just finished scoping out and purchasing a decent metal swing set for the backyard.  Our son likes to be outside and since we can’t really afford to take him anywhere, we’ll at least have something for him to do here at home.  Of course, you can’t just buy a swing set these days.  We also had to buy a toddler swing, sand for the sandbox part of it, and some chairs for us to sit in while we are out in the yard with the kids.

My husband was gracious enough to go to the grocery store, Sams Club, Lowes, and Toys R Us today to get everyting on our list  $700 later, he is home.  I am so scared.  We had to put all of it on the credit card and have had to do that for the past month as I have missed two paychecks due to my maternity leave.  When he got home with everything, I thought to myself, “Great, we just bought the last big thing we’ll need for a while.” No sooner had that thought crossed my mind, then the damn baby gate at the top of the stairs breaks.  Awesome.  I shouldn’t be mad.  We’ve been using it for a year and it was free (thank the Lord for good friends and hand-me-downs).  So, off to the store again tomorrow to spend more money.  I just checked our credit card balance – almost maxed out.  I can’t stand it. Someone please stop the bleeding.

In one of my earlier posts, I mentioned how we are going to be on a debt reduction plan and that starts April 1st.  We will be on a tight budget and will have to stick to it to make this work.  If we can’t, we’ll be bankrupt.  Neither of us have been very good with money, but now that we have the means to put money toward debt reduction, it’s almost impossible to do so.  Probably should have thought about this before we had kids.  Oh well.

I stress about money a lot.  I hate it.  The more we make, the more we spend.  I suppose that’s the American way.  I worry all the time that we will not be able to provide for the kids, or that the car will break down and we can’t afford to fix it. (Wait, we’ve already got that going on.  My husband’s car is sitting in the driveway because we can’t afford to fix it.  Thank God it’s not one of the cars we carry the kids around in.)

We’ve done this to ourselves and I really shouldn’t make any excuses.  I am taking accountability for the fact that we are strapped.  If we didn’t have revolving debt, we could probably afford another house.  The only thing we can do is get out of it.  It’ll be a difficult couple of years, but we can do it.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that interest rates stay where they are and gas prices go down.  I’m fortunate to be in a job where I am eligible for performance raises each year, so I’ve got to make sure I do whatever I can to get one of those.

I shouldn’t complain because there are so many people in much worse situations than me.  I realize this.  I realize I probably sound like I’m whining, but this is my reality.  It’s no secret that my husband and I want a third child, but that will not happen anytime soon.  I’m just not sure how we’d pay for him/her, so we’ll be holding off on that plan for quite some time.

Keep your fingers crossed for us.  Debt reduction plan starts in T minus 10 days…

Posted March 20, 2011 by Holy crap! I'm someone's mom! in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

